Reviews

If you have enjoyed a good experience at Calder Massage and Physiotherapy it would help enormously if you could find the time to leave a review, Thank you. Julie.

(Please note: A block of reviews are all dated as ‘Mar 12th’ as this is the date I started to allow comments here as well as  using Google reviews, thus some are duplicated directly  from Google!)

Please Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Felt better

Jan 23, 2017 by Sian

After a soft tissue, myofascial release and manipulation massage, I was able to forward flex with much reduced pain, something yoga swimming and rest alone did not provide. Thank you Julie


Brilliant

Dec 05, 2015 by Tracy

Thank you so much Julie. I have just completed the Newark Castle Half Marathon 4 weeks after coming to you with a sore hip and misfiring glutes. Thrilled to say I completed it without any hint of a problem thanks to you. Best thing I did coming to see you. I promise I will keep up those exercises and keep those glutes firing!


Excellent Service

Nov 27, 2015 by Susie Hodgin

It's quite a while since I had my individual sessions with Julie, but I am still continuing with the exercises she gave me because they have made so much difference. I also found the Pilates classes really useful.

I would just like to say thank you for staying in touch and sharing your articles - I find them extremely useful.


Highly recommend

Nov 15, 2015 by jane morgans

After suffering weeks of lower back pain I had one session with Julie and it was amazing! The best £35 I've ever spent! She identified the problem, applied massage and gave me exercises to do at home. It was fantastic to be pain-free. I haven't looked back and am so impressed and grateful.
No long course of treatment was needed although I did have one follow-up appointment three weeks later when she gave me further exercises to do.
I highly recommend Julie if you are suffering from back pain.


Excellent Service

Oct 23, 2015 by James

After only a couple of sessions with Julie she has proved herself to be a cut above other physiotherapists I had experienced. She takes a holistic view of external and internal physical issues to successfully target the problem areas. She follows up with exercises to do between sessions and keeps her clients up-to-date by email (a tech-savvy physio - a big bonus for communication). Also, Julie has a good taste in music - in amongst the normal relaxing chants and mindfulness mix on her playlist, Air, Groove Armada and other trip-hop / chill-out artists pop up. A major bonus for me personally! Highly recommended.


A great help

Oct 23, 2015 by Anon

I went to see Julie with self-diagnosed sciatica (she wasn't convinced that it was) - but with severe pain down one side of my body which made walking and standing very unpleasant. Julie listened sympathetically, gave a gentle massage and suggested exercises. After three sessions there was a marked improvement and I know I could go back and see Julie any time I need to 'loosen up'!


Professional and effective

Sep 30, 2015 by Kate

Over six weeks I have had a course of treatment for a painful shoulder and neck which has brought considerable relief. Julie did a thorough assessment initially and has re-assessed at each visit. She has provided gentle massage and remedial therapy which have alleviated the painful symptoms and offered advice on exercises to increase mobility and rectify misalignment. After every visit I have come away feeling well cared for and considerably more comfortable with each passing week, until I now feel better than I have in months. I can truly say that I have been in very capable hands and I would recommend Julie without reservation.


What a relief!

Jul 22, 2015 by Rebecca

Julie sorted by out my lower back along with a full body massage. She really got to the root of the problem and smoothed out my aches and pains. No-nonsense advice and suggested exercises have put me back on track (again!)


Best massage I've had

Mar 12, 2015 by Anon

I went to Calder Massage for a general M.O.T. on my back and shoulders, and to see if I could find out why my hip was so tight and sore. Julie spent considerable time loosening the knotted muscles in my shoulders and found the route cause of the hip problem straight away. She taught me stretches to maintain hip flexibility, and massaged the affected muscle until it felt much looser. The whole session was really relaxed and I left feeling rejuvenated. The best massage I've had.


Highly recommend

Mar 12, 2015 by A patient

Julie is an absolute star - went with a frozen shoulder, came out with exercises and further advice by email. I was skeptical about the benefit as it seemed so gentle in comparison with other physio, but it certainly worked! A second visit on another matter showed that Julie had reread my notes from the previous visit, made the connection between the two episodes and sorted everything out. No nonsense, no mindless chatter - Could not recommend more highly.


Great help

Mar 12, 2015 by A customer

I saw Julie for a few old age and work related aches and pains and for a bit of help with keeping fit and problem free. The massage I received was excellent and I felt looser and more comfortable than I have done in a long time. The advice that she gave me was clear and concise and made a lot of good sense. I will definitely see Julie again to help me stay fit and well.


Good job

Mar 12, 2015 by A client

Visited Julie for a general massage and to discover where my main sources of tension were. She quickly routed out my lower back as being a part for me to focus on stretching and worked out the worst of my knots. I left feeling considerably better than when I arrived and with an understanding of how to reduce the tension in the areas she had worked on. Excellent job and highly recommended.


Recommended

Mar 12, 2015 by Chris Hodgson

Julie gave me some great advice and exercises to do to prevent the back pain that i have been getting from sitting for too long at a computer desk. She explained the problems and how to fix it in an easy-to-understand way and was very understanding. I would be more than happy to recommend her to a friend - Chris


A great benefit

Mar 12, 2015 by Josephine H

I've benefitted greatly from Julie's massages and from the exercises she suggested to help a shoulder/arm injury. The massage sessions have been relaxing and pleasant as well as therapeutic. The music played is delightful, too.


Great massage

Mar 12, 2015 by A patient

Went here after it being recommended by a friend. I work 8-10 hours a day at a computer so end up pretty achey but I'm not generally keen on massages, highly scented oils and people prodding me. The lady was great and I left there moisturised rather than covered in sticky oil and with my whole back feeling properly relaxed. I'm taking my mother there when she visits!


Motivating

Mar 12, 2015 by Helena MacKenzie

I have been to see Julie for a rumbling Achilles problem and a back problem. I found her to be very conscientious and professional. So many physios seem to challenge the patient in a negative way but Julie set achievable targets for exercises and this was hugely motivating.


Good

Mar 12, 2015 by Tony Ross

I always had clicky, painful, inflexible shoulders until I did the exercises Julie recommended to get things into proper alignment. She also ironed out a few other niggles, and I always liked the music she played.


Recommended

Mar 12, 2015 by mark w

I first went to see Julie in 2011 as I had very painful shoulders and neck with lower back pain. I've had these problems for many years, which I now know is due to poor posture and a job that's stressful plus I'm sitting at a desk for most of the day. In the past I've been assessed by a chiropractor, had massages, attended exercise classes to mention but a few. I went to see Julie as I wanted to be assessed by a physio' and she made such a positive difference in a short period of time. The pain has gone and I sleep better as well. I chose to see Julie on a monthly basis so to maintain the good work Julie began in 2011. Highly recommended.


Brilliant service.

Mar 12, 2015 by James J

Brilliant service. Always been able to get an appointment within good timescale. Julie has sorted several problems with my back and shoulder that had been persistent. Have always left massage with an improvement and would highly recommend.


Recommend.

Mar 12, 2015 by Spud o

Very good physio. I highly recommend.


Recommended

Mar 12, 2015 by Alfie Engin

I went to see Julie while suffering with neck and shoulder pain brought on by my work. The treatment I received was very professional and she really helped to relieve the pain I was in. I can't recommend her highly enough!


Clear & concise

Mar 12, 2015 by John Downing

The advice that she gave me was clear and concise and made a lot of good sense. I will definitely see Julie again to help me stay fit and well.


Back pain caused by posture problems

Mar 12, 2015 by Dave

After many years of sitting at a desk and doing very little to sort out issues with a generally poor back posture my bad habits finally caught up with me.

Shoulder and back pain compounded by a reduced range of movement in my left arm.

A visit to Julie helped ease the pain with an initial massage and a second visit enable her to provide a full range of instructions and guidance on a series of exercises that I have incorporated into my everyday life.

Initially the pain has eased, my left arm movement is returning and my mobility is getting better every day. Apparently if I keep stretching this will continue to get better and better.

The best thing about this experience (apart from the successful diagnosis) was the lack of requirements for numerous expensive return visits and a focus on helping me to help myself.

Brilliant service, highly recommended.


Sports Massage Therapy, Remedial massage, Physiotherapy // Calder Massage, Hebden Bridge , USA 5.0 5.0 23 23 After a soft tissue, myofascial release and manipulation massage, I was able to forward flex with much reduced pain, something yoga swimming and rest alone did not provide. Thank y

Contact Details

Calder Physiotherapy & Massage
18 Albert Street
Hebden Bridge
HX7 8AH
07981 931853
info@caldermassage.co.uk

Visit the Facebook page for updates

Calder Massage on Facebook

Gift Vouchers Available

SOS Childrens Villages